About Matt

Versatile and varied may be the best adjectives to describe Matt Hyde's career. After graduating from the prestigious Berklee College of Music in Boston, Matt toured with a variety of bands, playing guitar and keyboards. When he'd had enough of life on the road, Matt began working at recording studios -- first in Boston, then in Los Angeles.

He began programming and engineering on various projects (including a few tracks for No Doubt's "Tragic Kingdom"), and produced small rock and hip-hop projects on his own, including demos for a then-unknown Cypress Hill showing his penchant for bringing out the best of un-honed talent.

From the alternative pop/rock of Porno For Pyros and No Doubt, to the hard rock of Monster Magnet and Fu Manchu to the punk rock of Sum 41 and Strung Out to the hardcore metal of Slayer and Hatebreed, Matt's work as a studio musician, Grammy Award winning engineer, arranger, producer and songwriter has spanned many genres of rock music over the past two decades.

Some highlights so far include:

Pride Tiger The Lucky Ones (P-E-M-CW)
  • Juno nominee "Rock Album of the Year" (2008)
Hatebreed Perseverance (P-E)
  • Album debuted at #50 on Billboard 200
  • Loud Rock Album of the Year (2002) - CMJ
  • Over 300,000 copies sold worldwide
    including the hit single "I Will Be Heard"
    (featured on the XXX film / soundtrack)
  • #9 on Billboard Top 200
  • #1 on Billboard Top Soundtrack chart
Slayer God Hates Us All (P-E-M)
  • including the Grammy nominated single "Disciple"
  • #28 on Billboard 200
  • #9 Top Canadian Album of 2001
  • #18 Top Internet Album of 2001
  • #31 in the UK charts
  • One of the most crucial metal bands ever - Rolling Stone
Monster Magnet Powertrip (CP-E)
  • featuring the hit "Space Lord"
  • Billboard MVA nominee (1998)
  • #1 album on Billboard's Heatseekers chart
  • #97 on Billboard 200
  • Gold in the US
Porno For Pyros Porno For Pyros (P-E-M)
  • #3 debut on Billboard 200
  • Gold in the US
  • MTV VMA "Best New Artist" nominee (1993)
  • including the hit single "Pets" which debuted at #1 on Billboard's Modern Rock chart as well as 3 tracks from Good God's Urge
  • #20 on Billboard 200
P=produced, CP=coproduced, E=engineered, M=mixed, CW=cowrote

site by duffweb